Governments need to control the environment rather than controlling the industry, as companies already control resources very efficiently.

The government’s power encompasses every citizen’s life, their rights, and even the environment. In some ways, the prospect of the government shifting its focus to the environment rather than controlling industries is something I disagree with. The government holds the sovereignty to enact laws. These laws safeguard the resources and necessities humanity needs to thrive. Moreover, their jurisdiction is not only limited to the public, but also the resources and animals who inhabit this world. With that being said, everything else that happens in nature is not always something controllable. Things get out of hand in an instant and laws are not enough to stop them. No matter how many laws or bills they pass, these are not assurance that things won’t go sideways. On the other hand, the government plays a big part in mandating regulations for industries. Without these regulations, businesses are free to either limit or deplete their resources, and more often than not, they opt for the latter. Additionally, business owners have varying ideas of what is “controlled”. Industries have very vast views on controlling their resources, and these often clash with the morals of other businessmen, and of course, the law. If all business owners are allowed to roam free and regulate their resources however they desire, it will end up in them abusing their power. In conclusion, the government and industries should work hand-in-hand in making decisions for what is best for the business and for the people. The government implements laws and regulations to protect resources while industries should also do their part by cooperating and doing what is morally right for the company and for the resources.