Space exploration costs tax payers an exorbitant amount of money each year. What are the advantages and disadvantages of spending money on space exploration?

Space exploration costs tax payers an exorbitant amount of money each year. What are the advantages and disadvantages of spending money on space exploration? Nowadays many people believe that thanks to the enormous amount of money spent on space exploration humanity has made significant progress in space technology. While acknowledging obvious advantages it is clear that there are also some drawbacks of spending such amount of money on space research which are worth considering. There are two main benefits of investing money in space exploration. In the first place, this allows to make meaningful progress in space technology. As we know, nowadays many aspects of everyday life depend on space technology. For example, the development of space technology improved the quality and speed of the Internet. In addition, recently our scientists have made wonderful discoveries about the origin of our Universe. For instance, we have the Hubble telescope which are used to make such discoveries. However, despite significant advantages there are also drawbacks of spending huge amount of money on some space programs. Sometimes it is not obvious why governments of various countries fund a lot of money on some programs which have no immediate benefits for mankind. For example, last week I saw a TV program about the exploration of some asteroids which are very far from the Earth and the cost of the research program was really huge. In conclusion, spending a large amount of money on space exploration can be advantageous however, we should not invest a lot of money in some expensive space programs with no immediate benefits for people.