AFFECT OF CARE AND NURSING HOMES

It is increasingly common for families to send their elderly relatives to live in nursing homes or care homes, rather than take care of them at home. We will discuss several drawbacks rather than advantages. Firstly, I would like to say elderly people do face some problems in nursing homes or care homes for the elderly present some disadvantages. For instance, the most obvious of them is the lack of loved ones around, and being isolated from their lovely and usual environment can make them feel lonely and sad. This can result in psychological trauma and moodiness and also increased chances of contracting infectious diseases as the majority of the elderly people have comparatively weakened immune systems. In addition, despite the fact that it is possible that for friends and relatives to visit nursing home residents, these visits can be infrequent, and loneliness is often the consequence. Secondly, another disadvantage is staying in nursing homes or care homes can be very costly. Many people can not afford to pay for constant care, especially if they do not have plenty of retirement savings. Finally, I think one of the most important disadvantages is that people often put their elderly relatives in care homes or nursing homes that are situated a long distance from their homes. As a result, they meet each other less frequently. Overall, living in a care home or nursing home has many negative aspects to consider. In summary, I should say that I am sure that elderly people feel sorrowful when they are placed in nursing homes or care homes, and I feel this, therefore, putting the elderly in nursing homes or care homes is unacceptable, at least for me.