Sometimes spouses have to live far away from each other. Maintaining long distance relationships is sometimes difficult and straining. What do you think are the main reasons for distance relationships? What can be done to help couples feel closer?

Nowadays long distance relationships are becoming increasingly common due to work, education. This type of relationship can be stressful and tough for the spouses. However, there are a number of ways to help them due to new technologies: video calls, messengers (Skype, WhatsApp, Telegram). Moreover, today people can travel faster than before due to aircrafts and high speed trains, consequently, family members can visit each other more or less often. One of the most common causes of distance relationships is work. People get one of the lifetime opportunity from another country that they could not get in their homeland, which will help them to achieve a new level in their career. Education abroad is also a common reason for distance relationships, people could get unique knowledge in most prestigious universities such as Oxford University and Harvard. For example, my uncle took an opportunity and went to another country for better work conditions, he got a job offer from a huge international holding. Definitely, after 3 years of working he is highly qualified and demanded specialist due to his rare experience. However, it was difficult for him and his wife to be separated due to work. Long distance relationships could be difficult for couples financially and psychologically, especially first months. Moving to another country and settling there could cost an arm and leg: during COVID 19 flights were expensive. Moreover, it is difficult to change routine life when people spent almost all their time together. This could lead to feelings of loneliness for both partners and situations when one of the partners is missing an essential part of spouses life’s. Thanks to modern technology there are ways to solve this problem for couples such as remote work (however, for some jobs it is unacceptable), being in touch with family everyday via WhatsApp and other messengers with video call options and visiting each other as often as possible. There is also another way as support from the workplace for relocating family. In conclusion, the main causes of distance relationships are better work conditions and education, which could lead to situations when one of the partners could feel loneliness and/or another one could miss all important celebrations. There are a number of solutions such as being in touch, visiting each other and family relocation.