small shops vs big supermarkets

With the continuously increasing number of large supermarkets, the question about the true value of local shops has been put under scrutiny. In my opinion, in spite of supermarkets being a lot more convenient, the local shops take the win. The obvious benefits to supermarkets relates to their convenience. They allow consumers to select from a wide variety of products that are consistently available, clearly labelled and fresh. On the other hand, in local shops, which are necessarily smaller, stocking this enourmous volume of products is hardly an option. The big conglomerates also win when it comes to prices, the sales volume, and the amount of goods they buy, allow them not only to get a better cost price, but also to profit off of their stock, which therefore translates into cheaper prices for the customers. At this point, you may be wondering, how can local shops beat that? , well, to answer that we have to take into consideration the human factor, what local shops may lack in business, they make up for in service, no matter what shop you walk into, one of your own neighbours will be waiting to assist you and offer you their help. In conclusion, the modern conveniences of supermarkets do not outweight the warmth and familiarity of local shops, run by member of the community and beneficiating it directly.