Somepeople say that in all levels of education, from primary schools to universities, too much time is spent on learning facts and not enough on learning practical skills.

In urban centres around the world, a great deal of time is wasted daily due to transportation jams. This is a serious issue because it affects people’s livelihoods and mental health. This essay will consider the main causes of traffic congestion, before proposing two possible solutions. The most important cause of traffic problems in cities is a lack of public transport. With few alternatives, many people choose to travel by car, as it is quicker and more convenient. As a result, traffic jams occur, particularly on popular routes such as main roads. Another key factor is uniform working hours across the city. The majority of people start and finish work or school at a similar time. This means that road becomes extremely congested at certain times of day, for instance, at “rush hour” in the morning and evening. Fortunately, however, there are two promising solutions to this problem. First of all, local governments should invest more in public transportation. This would make this option more attractive and reduce the number of cars on the road. For example, in my hometown, the council has created a network of cycle paths which encourage people to cycle to work. Secondly, the goverment could introduce different working hours for schools and public facilities, which would further cut down the number of commuters travelling at particular times. In conclusion, congestion is a serious problem which is primarily caused by limited public transportation options, along with the shared working schedule of many urban dwellers. I recommend that governments address this issue by investing in public transport infrastructure, and implementing varied working hours in public facilities.