Some young people tend to have a year of traveling before they start university and see it as a chance to broaden their knowledge. Others think that people should attend university right after graduation from high school.

Over the past few years, the phenomenon which some young people delay one year for traveling before furthering their study in university or college has become increasingly popular. They believe that it is good for them and see it as an opportunity to enrich their knowledge. In contrast, other people hold an argument that young people should take part in courses at university straight after graduation from high school. Therefore, in this essay, I am going to investigate these issues from both points of view. On the one hand, there are a variety of benefits to explain why there is a growing tendency that people use a year traveling before they start university. Firstly, taking a gap year give students the opportunity to experience different cultures. Exploring different ways of living can help them widen their horizons and see the world from different perspectives. Therefore, thanks to these experiences, they can extremely understand themselves result in choosing an appropriate major to study at university after. For example, my teacher at my university went to many places in my country after he left high school. He saw a lot of poor people who have many difficulties in daily life so that he opted for an economic major due to the fact that he wants to grow the economy of my country. Finally, spending a year of traveling help students become more independent and have some skills which are good for their preparations in the future. They can learn how to problem-solving, manage their budget, and take care of themselves as an adult for the first time. These skills help them be more ready to tackle difficult situations and challenges. To sum up, there are some primary advantages which students who decide to delay a year for traveling. On the other hand, it can be noted that some people believe that it is better if students attend university immediately after graduation from high school. This is due to some following merits. The first benefit is that studying at university earlier helps students gain knowledge and culture about life and the world faster and safer. The fundamental subjects in university not only help them have academic knowledge but also boost their soft skills such as communication, problem-solving, or time management ones. The second benefit is that if people have good qualifications earlier, they will have more opportunities to get well-paid jobs than other ones. For instance, if young people graduate delayed a year, the employers can take full staff so that they do not appoint any person for them. In short, there are some major benefits that are convenient if people choose to further education right after leaving high school. In conclusion, I believe both arguments have their own merits. On balance, however, I feel that the second view is more reasonable on account of what I aforementioned significant benefits.