What are the ways to prevent marital rape?

It is common knowledge that rape only happens between strangers. Yet nonconsensual sex in a marital relationship occurs as well, and it should not be normalized as most people think. Such behaviour like spousal rape can result to various problems to its victims, however, it can be tackled by educational campaigns and policies from government. Marital rape is the act of sexual intercourse with one’s spouse with his or her consent. There are many physical and emotional consequences that may accompany spousal rape. In terms of physical outcome, this kind of rape can spread adversely sexually transmitted disease such as trichomonas, chlamydia, syphilis, hypatitis or even HIV. Besides, victims may suffer acute injuries to the vaginal and anal areas, lacerations, bruising and votigue, which has probability to severely damage their health afterwards. While physical consequences have already been alarming to victims’ life, their mental condition is much more worrying due to psychological trauma. Short-term effects include anxiety, shock, intense fear, depression and even suicidal ideation, whereas long-term ones may have disordered sleeping and eating, intimacy problems, negative self-images and sexual dysfunction. Spousal rape is still a kind of rape and it needs to be prevented all over the world immediately as the protection for its victims, mainly women. Perhaps, what we need to do first is preventative measures. By looking back at romantic relationships through centuries and how an equilibrium may be achieved, proper educational campaigns and courses about self-valuing are crucial. People often misunderstand that because the other one is their dear, all behaviours are normal including unconsenting sex. This makes them become victims of spousal rape senseless. Therefore, education about sex and value in relationship is needed for their rights. Another solution to this controversial problem is regulation from the government. While many countries consider marital sexual assault as illegality, others still take it for granted. There is no reorganization of marital rape and it is disheartening that such a sensitive issue like spousal rape is being dismissed. In a society that fails to acknowledge its existence, governments should be aware of their obligation to reform the laws for the rights of their married citizens. All in all, marital rape is no longer an uncommon problem, and it is everyone’s duty to recognize its serious damage to the victims. However, with proper educational campaigns about sex and apporiate governmental policies, the situation may be better in good time.