Some young people look forward to a year of travelling, a 'gap year'; before they begin work or university and see it as a chance to broaden their horizons. For others this is an expensive waste of time.

Taking a ‘year off’ has become a very popular idea. A number of young people are deciding to leave their education or stepping into the working world on hold, and travel for a period of time. However, although this sounds adventurous and exciting, some find it as a waste of time and money. Firstly, a ‘gap year’ is undoubtedly a chance for youngsters to gain independence, living on their own in unknown places. By managing to find transportation, orient in big cities or maybe eat ‘on a budget’, people can learn a lot and become more responsible. Nonetheless, a drawback to this is that some people can realize they vastly enjoy this kind of life, and as a result, they never go to university after. Moreover, another benefit would clearly be meeting new people and cultures during the travelling year. Not only is this advantageous per se, but a significant soft skill in today’s multicultural world: knowing how to communicate with people from different nations without offending them. However, a commonly held view is that this kind of travelling is a huge and even unneccessary expenditure. While on the road, there is a limited ways to earn money, so a person cannot have a stable income, but only expenses. Finally, while some people say that ‘gapping’ is unproductive, this experience could help young people to find themselves and reorganize their plans or priorities. Deciding about future and making choices about a major in university or job positions can trigger anxiety, and so a ‘gap year’ can help ease this. In conclusion, whilst it’s true that travelling for a year is a big expense and sometimes risky, it is also a valuable experience for young people, and a step in preparation for the real world.