Many working people get little or no exercise either during the working day or in their free time, and have health problems as a result. Why do many working people not get enough exercise? What can be done about this problem?

It is observed that working individuals do very less or no exercise while working, or in their spare time, and consequently, suffer from various health ailments. This is largely due to long working hours of these employees. However, this problem can be addressed by a shorter work day. Long working day results in little free time for employees. High number of working hours coupled with time wasted in commuting reduces the free time available to working population. As people have less spare time, they are unable to find time to exercise. For example, in India, workers employed in services sector typically have a twelve-hour work-day, if transportation time is included, and have very little time available for exercising. Nevertheless, this issue could be tackled by decreasing working hours. If companies adopt a shorter work day, this would increase the time available in the hands of employees for doing non-work activities like exercising. For instance, according to a study done by the Norwegian government, more people started exercising as they had ample free time, when it mandated a six-hour working day instead of usual eight hours. Hence, shorter working hours will enable a larger section of population to exercise more. In conclusion, unless working hours are not reduced, this situation will continue where due to long work hours, working people do not do enough exercise, and as a result, have various health issues afterwards. Therefore, it is recommended that either companies lessen the working hours on their own, or, the government should introduce a law limiting number of working hours to a bare minimum.