More and more people are opting for ready-made food instead of freshly cooked food. Do this development has more advantages over disadvantages?

In the new era of technology and modern life, people generally have very limited amount of time to prepare food at home, and as a result they are consuming ready-made food more often. Although having these foods brings many advantages such as spending less time and effort, and they might be even cheaper, there are absolutely a lot of disadvantages associated with them. This essay will discuss that the number of cons related with fast food and take a ways are much more than the pros. The main problem of eating too much ready-made food is known to be the health issues caused by them. The dishes at restaurants are usually made from low quality ingredients, or even harmful ones, such as Trans oils. Obesity, higher risk of cardiovascular diseases, and fatty liver are just some of the serious health problems which can be caused by eating unhealthy food. A very good example of this issue can be seen in the statistics published by WHO, showing the increase in American people’s weight during the last 20 years, while America has the highest rate of fast food consumption in the world. Despite the fact that take a ways are threatening public health, they are still highly on demand because of the comfort they bring to people’s lives. During past few decades most women started to work outside their homes, and as a result they are not able to prepare fresh meals for their family. In this case, the best choice is what is convenient and even delicious: fast food. But is this really the best choice? Unfortunately, while all doctors and authorities say that it is not the best option, it is the only option most of the time. For instance, a person who has a 9 to 5 job, would probably spend around 11 to 12 hours per day working plus commuting, and will not have neither time nor energy to cook when gets home. So it is totally understandable if this person orders food from a restaurant rather than cooking. To sum up, however there are a number of merits of having ready-made food such as ease and speed, the demerits, namely; health related problems, are not only more in number but also more serious.