Is the mental strength important for success in sports or is it more important to have strong and fit people in sports. Discuss both views and give opinion.

It is considered by some people that physical fitness is the key to success in sports while there are others claim that mental toughness is of utmost importance. From my point of view, both qualities are of great significance in equal measure, and I am to elaborate in this essay. On the one hand, it is nearly impossible to become a talented sportsperson without some degree of physical superiority over your fellow athletes. This could be either a genetic predisposition or the result of intensive training, but it is undoubtedly of massive importance. In football, for example, players have to perform 90 minutes of relentless physical maneuvers, and this certainly requires brute strength and stamina. Without those characteristics, they would stand no chance of lifting the trophy, regardless of how perseverant they are. On the other hand, I still reckon that a strong mentality is also tremendously vital and cannot be overlooked in measuring the prerequisites for sporting achievements. To start with, mental stability can affect the performance of an athlete. In fact, even seeded players can bitterly lose to underdogs if stressed or pressured. Additionally, in some endurance sports, such as long distance swimming or running, mental capacity is completely a game-changing factor. In such cases, mental prowess is responsible for building up their resistance to boredom and fatigue, keeping themselves motivated and going the full distance. In conclusion, my firm conviction is that mental toughness is just as crucial as physical fitness in determining sporting success and sports players should be trained to be physically fit and mentally resilient.