Some universities offer online courses as an alternative to classes delivered on campus. Do you think this a positive or negative development?

Nowadays, many universities are offering distance learning programs to students as an alternative to the classroom coaching. There are various merits of distance learning, and it also comes with several demerits. Both the advantages and disadvantages are elaborated further. It is unquestionable that there are several benefits of distance education. The most prominent one is, pupils can study at their own convenient time and do not need to adjust their study time according to the schedule of regular class as most of the distance learning program provides online material which can be accessed at any time and place, give freedom to the student to learn according to their comfort. Furthermore, it compares more economical to regular classes and can be pursued by students from weak financial background. Because, material is provided in soft copy, as well as, no physical class is essential to study which reduce the cost of the course. Besides, jobholders who want to study further for better future opportunities do not need to quit their current job for study. On the other hand, the disadvantages of distance education cannot be overlooked. Firstly, there is a lack of personal guidance from the tutor. By this, I mean that in this learning method, the standard teaching process is followed by university, and no personal guidance is provided, which are essential in the process of learning. Secondly, some time student procrastinates their study without any unavoidable reasons. As a result, they get their degree late and might miss the opportunity of a job. Finally, when learners learn with other students in the class, they not only get an education from books, but also learn cooperation with other students and get practical knowledge of a subject by experimenting theory in the lab. In conclusion, based on the above argument, I believe it is advantageous to the student as it is economical and time-friendly; however, the drawback cannot be ignored.