Some universities now offer their courses on the Internet so that people can study online. Is this a positive or negative development?

Universities across the globe have started their online programs for the students in all fields. It has created a oppurtunity for those people who can not travel abroad due to their personal reason and can get the eductaion from the experts irrespective of their location in the world. It is definitely a positive development in the field of education. Education is the basic right for all the human biengs. In the remote areas, quality of education is not up to the mark. Many aspirants who want to study but because of financial issue, they can not move to big cities, can avail this facility of online education. With the growth of IT industry, access to internet is now very feasible. Mobile phone industry is growing at very high pace and they are able to provide smart phone at cheaper price to everyone. These devices can be used for the online eduction purpose. For example, many unskilled labors in India are using YouTube to learn or improve their skills to get a job. This is a kind of online learning. Demerits of online education are there. People are not getting chances to interact with the tutor. They are not getting hands on expereince of their technology. However, the merits are shadowing the negative points. Government needs to work on the IT infrastructure in the remote areas of the world. Top universities of the world have started their online courses but still there fees is too much high. Along with the focus on online learning, universities/authorities have to pay attention on the quality of education as well. Online degree is yet not accepted by many educational institutions. A autonomous body should be made for the control of e-learning and it should be acceptable at all levels. To conclude, e-learning is the best way to increase the reach of institutes to the remote areas and it is a gift for students as they can learn from the experts of their field without traveling from their location to any far places. Future of e-learning is bright and it will assist in creating more skillful students for the various industries.