some universities deduct mark on a student's work if it is given late. what is your opinion? What alternative actions do you recommend to take

Students are penalised for late submission of assignments at tertiary schools by the deduction of marks. In my opinion, this is very adequate approach to deal with the lazy students, however, alternative solutions do exist for this problem. The assignments in university education are integral part of the training of students. These assignments are meant not only to improve the research and knowledge skills of students, but also to make students disciplined so that they submit their task before due date. However, few lazy students deliberately delay their assignments till the last date and some unforeseen happens which results in their failure to complete at the last night. These students should be penalised by deduction of marks from their final grades or they will become habitual. Consequently, they have been observed to continue the same practices when they enter practical life which may cost their employers or companies' fortunes. At that stage, it is pretty tough task to improve the habits which have been inculcated in them for years. Besides, reward and punishments are important keys in every aspect of life, reward for good work and punishment for mistakes. Several other alternatives can be adopted by the teachers to force students to deposit their assignments in time. In case of late submission, the students may be given one extra assignment as punishment which may scare them in future. Another possible strategy could be if the students are retained in university on the last day of submission and not allowed to go till the time they deposit it. This can be very practical solution as university libraries are kept open till late night. These students can complete the assignment at the library and leave when they deposit it. In conclusion, marks deduction is the easiest solution for making the university students disciplined in depositing their task. This is an important step as these students will be important decision makers in the future.