Some think that private companies should pay for cleaning up pollution, while others say it is the government’s responsibility. Discuss and state your own opinion.

As economies develop and populations grow, certain areas become heavily polluted, which creates problems for the surrounding ecosystem in general and for human health in particular. While most agree that this is a serious problem, there are many arguments about who is responsible for dealing with pollution: governments or private companies. First, it is true that governments are – in theory – supposed to represent the people and are responsible for upholding the law. As most places do have anti-pollution laws, such as “clean air” legislation, it is up to the government to make sure these laws are enforced. If the government is ineffective or corrupt, then private companies will take advantage of this and continue to pollute the environment in the pursuit of profit. In contrast, because private companies are the main source of pollution, it seems that they should be the ones required to fix it. Factories often pump toxic waste into rivers with complete disregard for relevant environmental laws because they can get away with it and it helps their bottom line. We often say to children “if you make the mess, you clean it up” to show that they are responsible for their actions, so why should private companies be able to avoid responsibility? Overall, it would appear that those responsible for polluting the environment should be charged with returning it to a natural state, but companies will not do this unless they are forced by a central power – the government. It is a government’s role to ensure that laws are enforced and individuals who damage and destroy the environment for personal gain are forced to correct their mistakes or are severely punished for it.