Some think that climate change reforms will negatively affect business. Others feel they are an opportunity for businesses.

There is an argument raging on the effects of climate change reforms. Some people feel that such reforms will affect businesses negatively, while others opine that it is a chance for new businesses to thrive. I believe that climate change reforms will open up a whole new world of opportunities for companies. This essay will discuss whether climate change reforms will be a boon for businesses or spell their doom. On one hand, climate change policy could have a detrimental effect on some industries. Burning of fossil fuels is the number one contributor to the reduction of the greenhouse gases in our atmosphere. Totally banning such industries will significantly affect the lives of millions of people employed in this industry. For example, the coal industry would suffer heavy losses if its production were to be regulated or halted. Such policies could be put on hold or deferred till the time alternate sources of energy are fully viable. On the other hand, any change in the policies on climate change could be a boost for industries researching and providing cleaner sources of energy. These sources of energy produce low or zero carbon emissions thus helping in reducing pollution. To illustrate, there has been a rise in the number of solar panels installed in building societies. These not only provide energy with zero emission but they are also a renewable source of energy. To summarise, any change in climate change policy will have adverse or beneficial effects to certain industries. These companies could be totally wiped out or could see an increase in their revenues. My belief is that, companies will see these reforms as a blessing and will adapt themselves to survive.