consumers ore foced with increosrng nurnbers of odyerlisemenls from competing componies. To whol extenl do you think ore consurners influenced by odvertisemenls? whof meosures con be foken lo prolecl them

Advertising is the heart of trade. To survive in the competitive market of today, every product has to be advertised. There is a huge impact of these ads on the people, which is both positive, as well as negative. This essay shall analyse these effects on the common man, and suggest ways to protect people from the negative effects of adverts. There are many ways in which these ads are helpful. First, ads tell us about the new products that are launched in the market. They also tell us about the working of these products. After seeing the ads, consumers can go to the market and select things of their choice. What is more, the advertising industry provides jobs to many. Many models and other people make a living through this industry. Ads also touch social issues. For example, there are ads which aware people that they can stand up against domestic violence and female foeticide. We also have ads, which warn people about the harmful effeas of smoking. Another big positive influence of the ads of today is the entertainment they provide. They are made so hilarious that you feel like watching them again and again. On the other hand, advertisements promote consumerism. These ads can cause people to be dissatisfied with what they already have and make them want more. Not all parents are in the position to afford the goods, which the children see advertised and want to possess. This often leads to feelings of inadequacy among them. ln addition to this, this materialism leads to workaholism. People are prepared to work long hours, or even turn to crime to get these goods. Finally, ads can be very irksome at times. This is especially true of lnternet ads. The increasing number of advertisements and the never-endinB list of ad-networks are making the lnternet users' experience worse than ever. The ads, which have audio are very troubling and some ads are flash based. Telephone ads are also very irritating. when you are driving or in an important meeting, the bell rings and disturbs everyone. The solutions are not simple, as advertising is a very persuasive medium. lt would be unwise to ban ads, as this would cause more problems than it would solve. However, advertisements, which make false claims, should be banned. Advertisements for liquor and those ads, which show stunts, should also be banned. Then there should be consumer awareness programmes. Consumers should be warned against too much consumerism. Our celebs have a big role in selecting what products they should endorse. People, who follow these celebs would buy anything they say even without needing it. To conclude, today we are influenced a lot by adverts, both in positive and negative ways. Without adverts we would lose a valuable source of revenue, which is used for the benefit of majority. However, many steps can be taken to mitigate the negative influence of ads. makkarlELTS