Some think that ambition is a good quality. Is it important to be ambitious? Is it a positive or negative characteristic?

In today’s competitive education and work environment, being ambitious is thought to be one of the most important characteristics an individual needs to possess. Even though ambition plays a crucial role in becoming a successful member of the society, its negative aspects should not be overlooked. In many parts of the world success is only achieved if an individual keeps pushing his limits and aims to achieve more than his competitors. A CEO of a renowned company, for example, would have never got in his position if he hadn’t understood the value of chasing his ambitions. Similarly, a basketball player needs to comprehend how valuable being goal-oriented is, since he is surrounded with talented and prodigious teammates. Moreover, the essentiality of ambitiousness can be seen on every TV channel. Almost every single guest on a talk show is a person who has put all his effort into a particular task. On the other hand, having ambitions that one is not able to have a grip over anymore can do more harm than good. Many famous people have suffered from their inability to restrict themselves from their goals. Dedicating an unnecessary amount of time to one’s work can be detrimental to his relationship with his family members. More of than not, even the most successful complain about not having enough amount of free time to devote to their families; so their absence from family events can be directly associated with their ambitions. In conclusion, while ambitiousness is the main quality that leads to success, excessive amount of ambitiousness can result in disappointment for many.