Some think that all entertaining TV programmes should educate people about the importance of social issues.

Some people believe that television programs designed to entertain should also contain educational content on social issues. I completely disagree with this idea and will discuss my reasons in the following essay. Firstly, people should be free to watch television programs simply to be entertained, without having to be subjected to educational content. Quite often, people use television as an escape from their daily life, and as a tool for relaxation. It is unfair to suggest that they must be educated on social issues when they are simply wanting to escape by watching their favourite sitcom or cartoon. Furthermore, people should be free to choose whether they want to be educated about social issues or not. If they do, they are free to do the research themselves. Secondly, producers and directors should be free to create entertainment programs as they choose. Forcing them to incorporate ideology around social issues would be a violation of their freedom and artistic expression. In addition, it is not the role of television channels to educate people about what is right and what is wrong within society. These are the responsibilities of parents and communities. There are many current social issues that remain controversial, such as climate change and LGBTQ issues. It would be impossible for a television program to give an unbiased opinion surrounding these issues, and therefore it would not be appropriate for television channels to spread propaganda through their programs, as this may only be to the benefit of certain groups of people with a particular way of thinking or opinion. For example, if a television program director had negative views about the LGBTQ community, it could have a particular effect on the way they manipulate their educational content. In conclusion, I believe it is unfair to say that all entertainment programs should have educational value concerning social issues, as it would be almost impossible to create unbiased opinion and could result in the spread of propaganda.