Information technology enables many people to do their work outside their workplaces (e. g. at home, when travelling, etc. ). Do the benefits of this mobility outweigh the disadvantaged?

The Internet allows many employees to fulfil their companies needs remotely. This essay will argue that the advantages of this outweigh the drawbacks. The essay will first demonstrate how time-consuming is commuting between home and workplace and secondly, describe the likelihood of a decline in workers’ performance as related criticism. One of the biggest benefits of working outside is that it helps to save time which is spent on public transport, preparing for work, gossiping with colleagues etc. For example, according to the research of The New York Times, on average, every working person in New York spends about two hours per day driving to her or his workplace. This type of statistic illustrates how time can be used for other activities. This invaluable resource can enhance any aspect of employees’ lives and, consequently, it will encourage them to be more loyal to their companies and, as a result, it will lead to benefits for stakeholders. Despite having this advantage, it cannot be denied that there is an opportunity for a decrease in productivity. Some workers can be less involved in the working process and just take advantages of having additional free time. There is a lack of statistic about this, however, some surveys, which were provided during quarantine, show that it is not a worldwide trend. For instance, developers of Google Corporation were performing more significant remotely than they used to perform before. Clearly, there are some negative expectations, however, free time, which employees and management have when they work in distance from offices outweighs a probability of lower performance of some workers.