Some students think it is better to attend university in or near their hometown. Others think it is better to attend a university away from home.

Education has played an important role in human day-to-day life and due to this it has its variations. Nowadays, there is a school of thought which states that it is more preferable to study in a place not far from one's native city. Other learners prefer universities located a hundred kilometres from their home. This essay will discuss both points of view and present my own vision of this issue, with relevant examples and explanations provided. There are several reasons to support the idea that it is a good choice to apply to a higher educational institution in the vicinity of the birthplace. First of all, those who are studying close to their homes, are more connected to their family than other students. In other words, they do not need to spend hours to visit relatives, that is why it is easier to stay in contact. Secondly, the life near learners native town is more careless, because they can live in a parents’ house, do not pay rent, eat their mothers cooking and basically have more time for themselves. This extra time, that the undergraduates save every day, can be invested in their many-sided development, that would definitely help to make a career. Nevertheless, there are a few arguments to choose a university in a distant location. First, and the most important one, is that students can transform into a confident and independent person only through separation from parents. As an example, a number of researches state that almost all students, who live away from home, have better such particular skills as cooking, housekeeping and budget calculating, where the last one is extremely critical in life planning. Another reason is that learners live in a new place, usually different from their common one, where they can meet other people with different and opposite worldview, lifestyles and experience. This, in its turn, will accelerate personality growth, because changing a surrounding world means stepping out of the comfort zone, which is basically one of the evolutionary engines. To sum up, it is clear why some students prefer universities close to their birthplace, but it is also obvious that there are reasons for choosing a place for getting education somewhere away from hometown. In my subjective opinion, the second variant is better for developing and preparing for life.