Some students take one year off between school and university. Do advantages outweigh disadvantages?

Before embarking on college many students are taking a gap-year that a good option for them. This essay will argue that the advantages of this outweigh the drawbacks. The essay will first demonstrate that saving money is the biggest benefit of this and followed by an analysis of how the primary demerit, namely reduced motivation to further study, is not valid. Third level education is very expensive and lots of students decide to work for 12 months and save up money before they begin their studies. This allows them to pay for their living costs, tuition fees, and accommodation and focus on their studies, rather than struggle financially or have to get a part-time on top of their academic work. For example, The Times recently reported that the average student at a UK University requires over $12, 000 per um just to survive and many drop out because they cannot afford to stay. Despite the advantage, many students often get used to working or regardless of what they received the gap-year, for instance, as studies have shown that 26% of students who take a gap-year never enter tertiary education. To conclude, in my opinion, taking a break from studies can be advantageous if it allows people to work in order to gather up savings outweighs the flawed argument that it leads to disillusionment with education altogether.