Some students take a year off between school and university, to work or to travel. Do the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

It is common practice for some students to take a gap year after graduating high school to work and/or travel. What do you think are the advantages and disadvantages of this? Students taking a year off has become increasingly common now-a-days. However, the negative outcomes such as lagging behind and lack of interest outweigh positives like, experience and social circle. On the negative side, a year break will have detrimental effects on some pupil. Firstly, when they get back from their sabbatical, things would be different and it is obvious that they lag behind their peers, which leads to stress and depression, as they could not stand along with others. Secondly, having lost touch with studies, there is high possibility that they lose interest towards studying and gradually quit education. For instance, a research conducted by Bloomberg stated that, 70% of the people who get back from recreation holidays either get depressed, as they fail to cope-up with their colleagues or eventually drop-out, as they find it difficult to continue studying. On positive side, this trend helps them in numerous ways. It gives them an opportunity to gain experience, because they work for different organizations, for their living. Moreover, moving to a new place will enable them to meet several new people and build a social circle, which would pay dividends in the future. When they get back to normal life they will have fresh memories, to continue from where they left off. For suppose, it is a proven fact that people who have a good social life will have long career when compared to others who have a private life, due to the connections they established. To conclude, it is evident that taking a break from schooling for about a year has adverse disadvantages than advantages.