High job demands, stress and sense of commitment are among the main reasons people go to work when they are ill. This way they accomplish important tasks, but may infect others or get some serious health problems themselves. In your opinion should people go to work if they are sick?

It is common to see a great number of employees work even if they are ill in order to accomplish their tasks. However, it is argued that this situation is vulnerable for both those who do this and those around them. Therefore, they should abstain from work when they got sick. And I agree with this opinion to a greater extent. The first argument behind my opinion is that the productiveness of an employee is directly related to his physiological and psychological wellbeing. To be precise, if an employee is either physically ill or disturbed at his mind, his performance at work can be negatively affected. For instance, people who are physically ill might have some limitations at work. As a result, they have to strain to their limits to compensate for their weakness. This extra effort which they deliver at work is most likely would result in both physical and mental exhaustion. Eventually, they would become sicker. The second reason why I am against employees go to work when they are not well is that they are highly potential of making their co-workers unwell. To be clearer, employees are mostly in touch with their colleagues. It is obvious that there would be higher chances of spreading the disease when employees are infected. Therefore, their presence at work is harmful not only to themselves but also to those around them. To recapitulate, according to my opinion, it is an unwise idea for employees to go to work when they are ill. Because it may have a detrimental effect on both employees themselves and their co-workers.