Some students take a year off between school and university, to work or to travel. Do the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

With the global rise in student population all over the world, many students are now taking a year off study to explore other opportunities such as gaining work experience or traveling. In my opinion, I think this trend comes with a lot of benefits compared to the drawbacks it might bring. One obvious advantage of taking a year off study is that it gives students first time exposure to the cooperate world. While they work, they also get to gain valuable experience from their employers. Therefore, they learn different skills needed to succeed in a working environment such as leadership skills, critical thinking, and the ability to work effectively as a team member. Not only would these indispensable skills impact their life positively, but also give them an edge over their counterparts. No wonder nowadays, students are now considering this option more than they used to in the past. In addition to the point highlighted above, another benefit is that some undergraduates get to study abroad due to exchange programs run by some intuitions in partnership with other foreign schools. This allows them the opportunity to experience schooling in another country and also get to learn cultures totally different from theirs. To further illustrate this, University of Ghana has an affiliation with other schools in the United Kingdom whereby the best performing students are picked and sent to the UK to study for one year. Consequently, they see this program as a means of motivation to succeed academically in order to get a chance to travel out. In view of the advantages discussed above, it would be erroneous not to point out that, while these students get to work or travel to get the foreign exposure needed, they end up spending longer semesters to complete their degree. In spite of this, the benefits of taking a year off study still outweigh the disadvantages. Hence, students should be encouraged to take a year off study to explore other opportunities.