Some students prefer to take a gap year between high school and university, to work or to travel

In today’s society, it is a common tendency that having a year-long break is always be a habit among high school graduates prior to enrolling in a university. To a certain extent, I agree that taking a gap year before embarking on higher education could bring some advantages. However, I also hold a viewpoint that this phenomenon could bring a multitude of drawbacks. On the one hand, there exists several reasons to believe that taking a gap year is beneficial. In particular, spending a year-off allows new graduates time to travel so as to have various chances to delve into the world and immerse themselves in alien cultures (strange and not familiar). As a results, the deferment of enroll to higher education enables high school senior to enrich their life experiences and cultivates relevant job skills, they lay the foundation for students before pursuing college. For example, living away from home requires them to be independent to adapt quickly with a new environment. Simultaneously, they have to pick up new foreign language in order to make it easier to communicate with local residents and study abroad. On the other hand, the advantages pale in comparison with the negative effects. One of many disadvantages is gap-year-takers may fall behind in their studies. Consequently, students would suffer from peer pressure which lead to many negative influences on mental well-being namely pressure and anxiety disorder. For these reasons, it is inevitable that their self-confidence would be drained gradually. Furthermore, high school seniors can become less energetic. Thus, students gradually lose their learning momentum and it is hard to resume their education after a long time. In conclusion, albeit taking a gap year is not without certain benefits, I strongly believe that this choice could bring a lot of negative outcomes and do not make it a worthwhile path.