“Some students believe that the best way to learn English is to do as many grammatical exercises as possible. ”

There is no doubt that English is becoming the most popular and the international language all over the world so that how to learn it well is a considerable problem. It is argued that doing a lot of grammatical excercises is the best way to be good at English. In my opinion, it is not completely exact to believe. It is certainly true that grammatical exercises are basic knowledge of a language. Every language has its own alphabet, different words and many structures. When you do theoretical knowledge exercises, it helps you understand and use the language correctly. Therefore, grammar helps us easier in communicating. For example, can you describe about yourself in English without knowing how to put the words in correct way? No, the other person can not understand what you say. It is clearly that the more grammar, the richer our sentences and information are. Meanwhile, the order of grammar makes your communication more coherent. Grammar do not only improve speaking skill but also reading skill and writing skill in the same ways. However, it is also essential to focus on practicing skills. There is the fact that plenty of students in non-native countries today can not use English in real communication. They only study English on the papers at school and the main purpose is to pass the exams. This is the wrong way of learning a new language. Naturally, children learn their mother tongue by imitating in speaking in advance to build reflex. When students know the exact grammar, it will prevent the reflex because they always think carefully and consider before speak out so that speaking speed is slower. According to some surveys, it is not true that every native people do not speak correctly because they speak fast and they can understand well without perfect grammar. Thus, only focus on doing paper exercises is not good for learning a new language. In conclusion, to study well, pupils should learn grammar as well as practice skills and try to repeat them as much as possible.