Some sports are considered extremely dangerous, but many people still like them. Why do people take part in dangerous sports? Give some suggestions on how to deal with these dangers.

People around the world participate in a wide variety of sporting activities, from traditional ones like cricket and tennis to more modern and extreme activities such as snowboarding and mixed martial arts. While all sports carry some risk of injury, these extreme sports can have serious, even fatal, consequences when things go wrong. Nevertheless, they are growing in popularity for several reasons and, thankfully, there are measures that can be taken to mitigate the risks. The main reason why people enjoy taking part in dangerous sports is the emotional high they can bring about. When a person flies through the air on their skis or summits a mountain without ropes, they experience a surge of dopamine, the feelgood chemical which, in many cases, can become addictive. For some extreme sports enthusiasts, their appetite for this feeling increases over time as they conquer more and more goals. In other words, they are motivated to keep climbing, boxing or rafting in order to chase the high. Another motivating factor for some is the sense of accomplishment they feel. This sensation is common to all sports but is heightened when the sport itself is highrisk. Surfers, for instance, may dream of riding a huge pipeline, and when they do it, it means they have not just survived an extremely dangerous situation but also that they have attained a level of skill that few other people in the world have. It is important, however, that steps are taken to minimise the risks involved in these sport. First and foremost, participants need to educate themselves, be it on how to monitor waves and wind for surfers, or how to fall from a horse in the most careful way. In some cases, this extends to using suitable equipment and safety gear. In addition to the individual’s responsibility, there are also guidelines that should be put in place by authorities. When it comes to Olympic sports, for example, there are strict rules in sports like wrestling and boxing that reduce the risk of head and spinal injuries. In conclusion, driven by dopamine and the idea of success, people will always pursue extreme sports. If complying with regulations and acting responsibly, participants should be able to enjoy these activities without putting themselves in grave danger.