some schools have restricted the use of mobile phones. Is this a positive development or a negative one?

Technology plays a crucial and important role in student's life. While, too much usage of specific technological devices, such as a mobile phone, during the school time, can hinder the productivity of students and may develop some negative effects on their studies. In my view, phone usage during the school time should be strictly prohibited with some emergency exceptions. Too much extensive usage of a mobile phone can lead to a serious damage in the long run such as, eye strain, migraine and, reduce visibility at very young age. Usage of cellular devices during lectures would not only hamper the focus of his or her own, but tutor's too. Thus, phone usage should be allowed at some specific time and area, such as during the lunch time and in the canteen. For instance, if students have their mobile devices with them, they would constantly urge themselves to check on every alert they would get and they would not be able to concentrate on the topic. Moreover, restriction on mobile phones will also allow them to speak with other candidates in the class and help one another with projects. As a result, they would get better acquainted with each other and this will help them drastically in removing the social awkwardness between them. A clear example of this would be my own friend, who used to be shy and not too friendly with others, but because of his broken phone and he needed help for his project, he had to speak with other candidates. This helped him a lot overcoming his fear of speaking with other people. In conclusion, I strongly opine that phones should be allowed only to some extent on campus as this will help students to improve their focus level and remove social distancing between them and get to know each other better. Having this in action, it would certainly boost their productivity during their school time. It's a win game for all!