Some museums and art galleries charge admission fees, while others have free entry. Do you think the advantages of charging for admission outweigh the disadvantages?

Museums and art galleries are no doubt a huge part of a city’s heritage and have vast educational values to them. Visitors are charged with entry fees in certain art galleries and museums while some have free entries for their guest. This essay discusses the benefits of charging admission fees along with the drawbacks of it. The primary advantage of billing visitors is the additional revenue reaped by these places. For instance, this earning can be used for the purpose of renovation as well as the maintenance of the paintings and artefacts. Along with this the management is able to secure the galleries from theft by installing high tech security devices. Furthermore, the surplus dividend can be donated to the immediate family of the artists or perhaps is given to the founders of such places. On the contrary, there are shortcomings to the charging visitation fees as well. Museums and art galleries were established for educating people about a plethora of talented artists of the past. Several education institutions arrange their field visits to such places, billing admission fees may deter them as their expense will rise enormously. Additionally, several researchers and arts students are required to tour these places regularly for their research and charging them for every visit might constitute an additional cost in their research study. To conclude, with the aforementioned points, I believe that art galleries and museums can avoid charging their guest as these places were founded for educational purposes and enlightening the public about the cultural heritage of that particular city.