Some schools have restricted the use of mobile phones. Is this a positive development or a negative development?

In most schools around the world, students have their own mobile phones. While these devices can and out undoubtedly play a role in safety, connectedness and even learning, many school have chosen to restrict the use on campus. In my view, there is a positive step and can bring benefits not only academic but physically and socially too. To begin with, restricting phone use in the classroom itself can improve learning. This can simply because, without these devices there are fewer distractions for teachers and students. When a student has his phone in their lap or pocket for instance, there is an irresistible urge to check constantly for text, alerts or social media updates. Even the most of servant teacher cannot prevent them from checking their messages or scrolling through the irrelevant material during the lesson. This endless distractions draw attention away from important education matters erode attention spans which can have long-term effects on academic progress. A blanket ban on phones during class frees learners from compulsive checking and allows them to focus. In addition to, banning phones in the classroom a school that restrict their use outside class can also expect improvements in students wellbeing. Indeed, if phones are banned at lunchtime and recess children are forced to engage in more meaningful and perhaps actively play with their classmates. They may play games, sports or simply sit and chat together, activities that are far healthier than sitting alone hunched over a screen. Without limitations enforced by the school, children cannot draw the line on their phone use. These social and physical benefits are only possible with strict mobile rules. In conclusion, despite phones are a part of our modern lives, I strongly feel that their use in schools should be limited. With firm boundaries and bans in some situations, students are able to learn better, strength and friendship and engage in healthcare pursuits.