Some people want the government to spend money for looking life on other planets, however, others think it is a waste of public money when there are so many problems on earth that the government should be solving.

Certain individuals are of the view that the state should invest funds to explore science of extra terrestrial life. However there is a different view that it is a futile expenditure because many problems on our planet remain unsolved. I support the latter opinion. On the one hand, it is unlikely to find life on other planets. So, it is wise to spend taxpayers money for human welfare. For example, Indian space agency, ISRO spends enormous amount of money for Mars expedition with very little result whereas expenditure on basic welfare and infrastructural issues are limited. Therefore, priority should be given to solve problems affecting life on earth. On the other hand, humans can migrate to other inhabitable planets. That means, human population on earth is exploding and natural resources are depleting. So, in the immediate future human life on the planet may become very challenging. For example, the population in Africa has doubled over the last century and there is large scale poverty due to drought and lack of potable water. Hence, to address these issues research on other planet would become necessary. In conclusion, although space research may be useful too, it is unlikely to achieve a positive result. So I in my opinion greater priority should be given to solve problems on earth rather than waiting on space research.