Some school leavers go traveling or work instead of going directly to the university. Do you think this has more advantages or disadvantages to their study? (EDUCATION + TRAVEL)

Some people choose to take a year off instead of continuing their studies after graduating high school. From my point of view, a gap year offers youngsters various learning opportunities, though the drawbacks of this also need to be wary. In terms of advantages, people who spend a year working or traveling would meet plenty of people in several fields, so that they would learn a large amount of knowledge about global issues, cultures, or economic growth, which are not involved in the school curriculum. Likewise, engaging in social activities helps develop valuable skills, such as problem-solving or leadership skills. Moreover, since most teenagers nowadays don't orient and direct their future careers due to the lack of practical experiences, a sabbatical leave allows the youth to explore the world and discover their passion. On the other hand, when it comes to taking a gap year, financial conditions and lonely feelings might be taken as obstructions. It is risky to devote money and time to a long journey, as a self-efficient trip can be unaffordable and expensive. Additionally, going on a long journey means that it is tricky to keep in touch with friends and families, hence teenagers have to face homesickness and loneliness. Therefore, students should prepare for plenty of issues during the gap year. In conclusion, although the break before officially entering university requires careful planning, it is essential for students as it does more beneficial than disadvantageous regarding comprehensive development.