The social and economic impacts of social media

These days, the meteoric rise of social networks is proven by increasing the number of users and becoming popular in daily life. Actually, they are useful platforms like Facebook, Instagram, Youtube, … for users and business. Besides, social media also effects positively and negatively on many aspects of life. This essay will discuss on how social network is impacting on society and economy. Firstly, social network affects deeply on social features, particularly, relationship and health problem. Through these apps, users make new friends, build many important networks, and keep in touch with family or close people. Additionally, they provide tools to improve health outcomes, so people can share information, get advice from health professionals as well as online diagnoses. Nevertheless, social media still causes some repercussions when people rely on virtual life too much. That may lead to bad impact on offline relationships and less face-to-face communications. They harm to mental and physical health such as stress, addiction, eyes problem, and less empathy with other people. Secondly, social media is a favorable platform for economic advancement in business and productivity. According to statistics, there are 35 percent of people use social media sites to find goods to purchase so companies can reach out bigger potential customers; collect their feedback and boost company’s brand. Unlike traditional advertisements, people are replacing newspaper, radio and television by using social media as a new marketing method and can approach wider range of audience. Therefore, this strategy is inexpensive, effective and helps productivity increase. However, online exposure might be attacked by negative feedback, hacking and it is not easy to erase mistakes on social media because customers or competitor go viral quickly and widely. In some cases, some false claims can relate to consumer law so companies should have appropriate plans and marketing strategies to avoid risks. In conclusion, social network has a big influence on social and economic both two sides. They allow us expand and strengthen relationships, develop business and productivity as well as improve our health. Besides, they also bring some drawback for users and business. Therefore, people should have a good using online network habits and utilize valuable this resource to get many benefits from social media.