Some school have restricted the mobile phones. Is this a positive development or a negative one?

A few schools these days have confined the use of mobile phones. This is surely a welcoming change for the education society wherein teachers and students are involved. This idea has a brighter side than dismissive, which would be discussed further in this essay. Firstly, it is long believed that a school’s conducive learning environment is crucial for a student’s cognitive and overall personal development. Therefore, there should not be any distractions of any form which can compromise this arrangement of classrooms in anyway. Moreover, use of mobile phones can potentially disrupt the learning and engaging pattern not only for a particular student but also for the entire group or class involved. In addition to this, it deviates their attention span, which is already short in this era. For instance, if a student gets a call in between classes or pupils play games over mobiles can result in lack of focus on their work. Consequently, this may irk the teachers, as they would demand undivided attention from students while they impart knowledge. Secondly, it also acts as a metaphor of status creating social-class differences in a noble atmosphere like school which can prove detrimental. It may induce a feeling of inferiority, amongst those who can not afford one. Hence, it might impact a student’s moral or self-respect, who is from a poor family. This can cause a massive blow to their primary aim of being in a classroom, the education. Therefore, it is a wise call to limit or completely ban mobile phones from being used on school campuses. In conclusion, although, technology advancement can help us in several ways, it is us, who must make a conscious choice where to draw the line. Hence, essential alteration should be made to have the best effect on education, like curbing the use of mobile phones in schools.