Some scholars believe that as computers translate quickly and accurately, learning a foreign language is a waste of time. To what extend do you agree or disagree?

In the era of modernization and computerization, computers have become a contributor to translating foreign languages rapidly and exactly. Although I believe that these advanced technologies will meet some needs of humans in translating languages, I totally disagree with the idea that studying foreign languages is unnecessary. On the one hand, there are several advantages of using translation softwares. Firstly, it only takes a few seconds to translate via computers. Nowadays, there are a wide range of usable translation apps and within a portable device, people can translate words whenever they want in a little amount of time. Unlike in the past, there was a need of traditional dictionaries to translate other languages to their mother tongue and vice versa, which was time-consuming and inconvenient. Secondly, thanks to the advance of technology, people can save a large amount of money because they do not need to hire interpreters anymore, which of course will cost them a great deal. Instead, they can utilise their computers to translate new words by themself. On the other hand, people could not reliant on computer translations due to some drawbacks. First of all, the translation devices are not always comprehensively accurate. This is due to the fact that these applications, in general, can only translate word-by-word and may overlook the context of sentences. Therefore, with academic paragraphs, learners may not be offered a correct translation, which can detrimentally affect their demands. Another point to note is that using these equipments may disrupt their conversations. To illustrate, when abroad students talk with their local friends, they need to use translation apps, thus, it will intermittent their discussion, also can cause unpleasant feelings to others. To conclude, it is certainly true that computers nowadays support people to translate in some ways, but this is by no means that people should not need to acquire foreign languages due to its important factor.