Some say young people should choose the career they want to follow on their own. Others on the contrary say that the choice should be made by teachers and parents. Give reasons for your statements and include any relevant examples from your experience.

Nowadays, career puts an enormous strain on people, especially the young. Although many people think that employment, which is an important factor in life, should be chosen by teachers and parents, the truth of the matter is that the youngsters had better follow their own ambition. On the one hand, it is argued by some that teachers and parents should pick the occupation for young people. Firstly, they are experienced and mature enough to have expertise in the potential of the work market. That is to say, they always long for jobs that are well-paid and ensure their offspring’s affluent life ever after. Secondly, if youngsters follow in their parents’ footsteps or advice, they will avoid mistakes and challenges in choosing the right path for their career development. For instance, my cousin inherits and takes over her family’s business; hence, from an early age until now, she has never worried about searching job or the risk of being made redundant. On the other hand, it would be better that the young themselves determine their pursuit. One reason is that young people are interested in a diver types of jobs and after experiencing different activities, they will find their true ambition. This is because most of them don’t want to be forced into any restrictions which prevent them from following their passion. Another reason is that they will have a sense of responsibility for their career. They will voluntarily study, experience to fulfill their qualification of the job. Furthermore, they will be more self-reliant and avoid overdependence on their parents. For example, when they have trouble at work, they will not blame anyone or any situations. Instead of that, they will become more determined to search for another stage of their career path because they are ready to accept any trade-offs when making a decision to pursue their passion. In conclusion, while the parents and teachers can have a practical viewpoint on decent well-paid jobs, the young can freely follow their own ambition. Personally, I will take the adults’ advice on my career, but I will try to pursue my true passion without much reliance on my family.