Some say that when a person achieves success in his main job, it means that he/she is selfish and does not care about others.

All working individuals strive for success in the fields they are working in. It takes a lot of hard-work and commitment to reach a stage where people judge you as a successful person. However, there are many people who think that he/she is self obsessed and does not wish the well being about others around him/her. I personally neither agree nor disagree with this viewpoint and I will try to explain the reasons in the coming paragraphs. One of the main reasons, I think, when a person becomes selfish is because he/she succeeded within a very short duration of time. This has led him/her to think that he/she is above everyone and is better than all of his/her peers. And just because of this confidence turned into overconfidence, he/she will treat the people around him/her as inferiors. Another major reason according to me is that success is passed to him/her as heirloom and he/she had to put zero efforts. In such situations people often take everyone for granted and only care about what will be beneficial for them irrespective of putting others in harm’s way. Their end goal is to achieve as much as possible without thinking about others. However, there is an equal part of my heart which says that not all successful people are selfish. One of the main reasons for this thought is that a successful person is aware of the hardships and struggle he/she had to face. And just because of that past experience, he/she knows value of relationships and will nurture and support people all around him/her to make them pioneers in their respective fields within a minimum period of time. Another reason to my disagreement is that when successful people are ready to listen to constructive feedback. This rare quality will only be a part of people who are ready to help others grow in the same way they have. A little constructive criticism can help in identifying problem areas and improving them for sake of everyone. To conclude, I would say that, it is people’s perspective how they see a prominent personality. It may be a direct or indirect result of how they were treated by that person. Any person will tend to agree with the argument that successful people become selfish for a specific person and may tend to disagree for another person. And hence, I have a neutral stand on this argument.