Some say that sports play an important role in society. Others, however, think that it is nothing more than a leisure activity.

Some would argue that playing sport is simply an activity that people do as an exercise, while others believe that sport has a significant effect on society and people’s life. While training and playing sport can merely leisure, but I assume that sport does have an important function in society. On the one hand, nobody can deny that sport is a great leisure activity. The majority of people all around the world participate in sporting activities every day because of the sense of well-being and relaxation that it brings them. People play sport for numerous reasons, including, wanting to get fit or stay in shape, as a way to take their mind off the stress of daily life. For instance, my wife has a regular plan to go to the gym to do exercise because she has a stressful job and this kind of activities help her to decline the stress. I believe that sport plays a vital role at present in society in comparison with relaxation and getting fit. On the other hand, the sport has so many advantages and It does serve a number of usual functions within society. Sport creates healthier societies. People who play sport are known to be happier and healthier, and less prone to certain mental and physical illness, which reduces the burdens on healthcare systems. Sport also brings people together and creates a sense of unity within societies. This can be witnessed when complete strangers join together to cheer on and support their countries football team. For example, in my own country, whenever our national football team plays with another country, men, women and children get together to support our team and give them a positive sense. I presume that sport has a crucial function and position in societies. In conclusion, It is true some think that sport just is leisure, but I believe that playing sport has more advantages than exercise for people’s life and societies.