some say that music, art and drama are as important as other school subjects especially at the primary level.

Curriculum of a primary school is an integral part in shaping a student's future. Certain people propose that artistic subjects are equally valuable when compared to regular curricular subjects such as history, science, maths. In my opinion, I completely agree with the aforementioned statement as it helps pupil in deciding their interest as well as improves overall growth of a child. Learning creative lessons from early schooling days allows students to choose their area of interest. Therefore, they can have longer time to decide about their likes and making a career out of it alongwith mastering an activity in a better way. For instance, a guitarist with more practice will always outperform another guitarist with less practice. Thus, teaching music, art and drama should be started from primary education so as to bring out the best from a child. Similarly, these subjects along with other conventional subjects like maths, science assists in complete development of a pupil. In other words, they become more expressive by portraying their emotions through art which helps to reduce mental stress to some extent. Which in turn helps to improve academic performance. For example, in a recent survey conducted by the New York Times, school teacher stated that overall performance of an artistic student was better than a student who was confined to other school subjects. Thus, it is fair to conclude that incorporating subjects like music, drama and art along with other syllabus from initial schooling is more advantageous for a better development of a child.