Some say that economic development is the solution to poverty, others say it is the cause of poverty.

In the modern era, numerous nations are developing at a fast pace. Owing to this, individuals perceive that the problem of poverty can be solved by the economic growth, whereas others consider that it will further aggravate the situation. I agree with the former point of view, and will discuss the reasons in the subsequent paragraphs. To commence with, the predominant factor behind significant reduction in the number of poor people with better economy, is the more opportunities for the government to perform something to uplift the status of down-trodden people. If the authorities have sufficient money, then they can conveniently build houses for the public who lives in slums; thus, this practice would considerably raise their standard. Besides this, if a country is financially strong, then by opening new businesses, government could provide employment to the people who are in dire need of it. Additionally, in developed nations which have a better GDP, it is hard to find someone who lives below poverty line. Individuals in such countries are able to fulfill their basic necessities of lives; therefore, poverty will reduce with the increase in average income of the nation. Moreover, with great economy, tourists would be allured and this would enhance the possibility of employment; as numerous individuals are required in the catering industry. Therefore, people who livw on meager income can earn their livelihood. To conclude, although poverty can be curbed with the economic development, funds ought not to be spent on the affluent strata; otherwise, it would further widen the gap between the rich and the poor.