Some road safety experts are suggesting that cyclist take tests before using public roads.

Some professionals in road safety issues believe that motorcycles and bicycles riders should be made to undergo tests before using the roads meant for the public. I completely agree with this opinion as it is beneficial in some ways including reducing the rate of accidents and improving the overall health of the population. Cyclist taking medical tests before using the road is advantageous in the following ways. Firstly, taking tests could reduce the number in the number of road accidents involving cyclists as this would ascertain whether they are fit enough to be on the general road or not. It's is reported in a recent journal on health published by the University of Southampton that 30% of accidents involving motorcycles are caused by individuals who tested positive for drugs and alcohol. This could have been avoided with a few tests. Furthermore, testing riders before using the road meant for everyone will improve the overall health of the individual as diseases that could lead to death and disability would be diagnosed early and treated promptly. This will, in turn, increase the life expectancy of the population and as a result, the economy will improve. I also believe that riders should be made to take riding tests before using the general road and also learn to properly read traffic signs and regulations. In conclusion, subjecting people who ride motorcycles and bicycles to some kind of assessment will reduce the occurrence of accidents and I'm of the opinion that this should be encouraged.