Competition for high grades seriously limits the quality of learning at all levels of education.

The intrinsic roles of competitions have long been a bone of contention among legions of people. When it comes to this matter, while some hold the notion that competitive spirit is of utmost paramountcy to individual self-betterment, others exclaim a contradictory view. From my own perspective, I partially accede to the former viewpoint, which will be examined in the following essay. Irreproachably, detractors of education-based competition pinpoints its prejudicial impacts exerted on students in a multiplicity of facets. First of all, education-based rivalry, when existent in schooling environment, inadvertently introduces students to external stress. As a matter of fact, beleaguered by seemingly superior individuals whose academic achievements prove overwhelming, those with inferior prowess may have to overstretch their limits, thereby incurring undesired pressure. A striking consequence represents the deteriorating state of students’ learning quality on the grounds that self-effacement is deemed an impediment to learners’ advancement. Second, pressure befalling students, which is partially engendered by adults, may scotch the way learning quality is promoted. To elucidate, parents who usually over-emphasize their off-springs’ final results have a propensity for neglecting the thorough study process. That, in turn, galvanizes impressionable youngsters into overdoing just to obtain highly-regarded scores. That being stated, such unobtrusive form of pressurization, either fortuitous or intentional, would affect students’ learning process, in worst scenarios, their mental matters. Despite above-mentioned antagonism, the meritorious sides of educational competitions appear incontestably justifiable. To elucidate, competitive spirits may, for the most part, function as an efficacious booster to individual learning experience by means of intrinsic motivations. To strike a comparison, positioned at a particular classroom in which every student is of ordinary type as well as possesses scant understanding, the chances are that the ambience will turn out to be demotivating and demoralizing. In contrast, the introduction of competitions in schooling surroundings, within permitted boundaries, would provide students with salubrious incentives. As a result, learners would go to great lengths for the sake of their own edification, thereby enhancing academic achievements in an effective fashion. This is corroborated by the mushrooming of contesting debates organized at schools, aimed at uplifting students’ heightened performances. In conclusion, for all the illustrated points, I would opine that advantageous merits aside, more considerations should be soberly taken as regards inimical effects of inordinate competitiveness.