some poeple think that the government should knock down old buildings and make way for new buildings.

In times of ultra-modern luxury and sophisticated architecture, many exponents postulate that old buildings should be destroyed and new once should be constructed, whereas, others posit that old buildings should be retained. I agree with first part of the mandate. This disquisition delves into the reasoning with relevant examples in support of my opinion. Old architecture is not just about the walls standing tall but also about the history and heritage, which can neither be rebuilt nor can be recreated, however, in modern era we tend to forget about the same and strive for comfort. Firstly, destroying old monuments will not only be time consuming but also an investment worth millions, which will block resources and funds worth millions, which can instead be utilized for better cause, such as, development of essential infrastructure like shelter home and hospitals. As per the archeological department of India, cost of demolishing old fort of Jodhpur was 10 crores and the work went on for more than 10 days in order to clear the land. Furthermore, these buildings often reflect the history associated with the place and state-of-art sculptures depicts culture and heritage of the kingdom, destroying which will tantamount to vandalization of history, for instance, Devi fort of Indore is truly an ornate beauty projecting life and culture of Holkar dynasty. On the contrary, if we have to replan or expand the city, these buildings might come in way of construction or expansion, as the location at the time when it was built, might not be well thought off. Moreover, maintenance at times might be much higher as compared to demolishing them. In such cases, it is more effective to destroy these buildings. To conclude, notwithstanding the fact that maintaining old places can be an expensive affair and at times might come in way of development, however, it holds history and culture, which if demolished can never be brought back, therefore, it should be our endeavour to preserve the same.