some peopre lhink thol schoors should feoch sfudenfs occording to lheir ocodemic obilities, whire olhers believe lhot it is befler to hove sfudenfs wilh different obilifies study together.

t is a matter of intense debate whether children should be segregated according to their intelligence level in schools. lt is obvious that all children are not of the same intellect, and sometimes it becomes difficult for educators to teach them in the same class. Therefore, some people feel that there should be separate teaching for intelliSent students and weak students. However, others believe that it would be better to teach all childrentogether. This essay intends to analyse both perspectives before forming an opinion. There are many arguments in favour of teaching intelligent students and weak students in separate sections. The intelligent students can be taught at their pace and the sessions can be made more interesting for them, and thesame thing applies to the weak students. Thus, both the categories of students would enjoy learning. Moreover different teaching tactics can be adopted in each group to give students the maximum benefits. ln a mixedgroup, many times weak students cannot cope up with the pace of studies and so come under high pressure andget de-motivated. when they are separated, teachers can handle them tactfully and bring them back their lost confidence. Furthermore, it has been seen that sometimes the more intelligent students show disruptive behaviour. They can grasp things very soon and then can be disturbing elements in the class. lt can become very difficult for theteacher to maintain discipline in the classroom. on the other hand, weak students would automatically develop an inferiority complex if they were made torealise that they are weak in studies, by separating them. ln addition to that, the other group might not treat them well, which can have a direct effect on their psyche. on the contrary when the students study in a mixed group, a sense of competition develops and weak students are motivated to study. Even intelligent students can help weak students in studies and the bond can be strengthened. This way, even weak studenis would not feel belittled. ln my opinion, children should not be separated, as only academic abilities are not enough to judge the intelligence of the students. I would rather suggest what I had in my school, and that is extra coaching to weakstudents lt serves the purpose best as teachers save their time and energy and yet maintain the effectiveness. To sum up, although there are merits of both approaches to teach students of different abilities, it would be better to teach them in a mixed class.