janina hat zu wenig schlaf

The relationships between the characters are strained and not loving. The only special relationship is that between Walt and his neighbors by reason of it will have a development in the film. Walt doesn’t have a good connection to his family, because they do not understand him and aren’t compassionate. In the first part of the scene the protagonist, walt is just coming from his wife’s funeral. The camera films walt from behind as he leaves his house and walks on his lawn. He stops on his lawn and looks at his neighbor. The camera pans slowly forward and approaches Walt’s face. He spits on his lawn and says “swamp rats”. This short scene from minutes 6 to 6: 20 clearly shows that walt has racist traits in his behavior and is derogatory towards his neighbors. In the second part of the scene from minutes 6: 21 to 7: 25 walt caught his granddaughter smoking in his garage but it doesn’t seem to shock him. She is enthusiastic about his oldtimer and asks him what happens to the car after his death. She probably wants the car and also speaks directly about the couch in his living room. At first the camera films the speaker from a normal distance. The camera approached walt’s face when the granddaughter’s inappropriate questions were asked. Walt spits too on the floor in this part of the scene. Spitting on the floor is his way of showing people that he finds them disparaging. In the seconds 7: 26 to 7: 40 the neighbor boy Thao rings Walt's doorbell and walt opens the door and asks him directly very unfriendly "what do you want? ", but thao kindly asks for a jump start cable. The camera always films the speaker from the front and the role partner from behind. Walt denies thao's question and slams the door in front of his nose. By the way all parts of the scene are without music, because the focus is only on the characters and the acting. The different parts of the scene show that Walt does not have good relations with his environment. The bad relationship between his family is understandable because they don't care about him in a loving way. The scene with the granddaughter shows this quite well. But a contrast is the relationship between Walt and Thao and his family. Because although Walt is initially very averse and unfriendly, this connection between them will take a complete turn in the film.