Ancestor worship on Tet holidays

Before New Year’s Eve, a five-fruit tray will be put on ancestral altar, offered to the gods and ancestor as well as express wishes of the whole family about a new year with luck, health and prosperity. Moreover, a branch of flowering peach tree (or apricot flowers instead) and a couple of “Chưng” cakes are also indispensable. On New Year’s Eve, the head of the family will present a food plate with rice and other dishes to the family altar to pay respect to the family ancestors. This worshipping act will occur for the next 3 days in which the family members believe their ancestors are there to celebrate the New Year with them. Visiting the graves or burial grounds of their ancestors in the beginning or the end of the year is an opportunity for celebrants to remember and honour their ancestors at gravesites. The young and old pray before the ancestors, sweep the tombs and offer food, tea, wine, chopsticks, joss paper accessories. . . to the ancestors. Although the customs might not be fully practiced due to the changing life style, there are things that will never be changed and always remain true: the appreciation for the ancestors; the love for family members; family members helping each other; and the hope for a better new year.