Some peopre lhink governmenl shourd bon dongerous sports, such os skydiving ond rock climbing. Do you ogree or disogree?

ln recent years we have seen a considerable rise in dangerous or extreme sports. Although I do not support an outright ban on such sports, I do feel that the government should regulate such sports, so that they are played under supervision, which will minimize the risks. Those who maintain that the government should ban dangerous sports activities argue on the grounds that a government has a responsibility to protect its population. ln other words, the law should be there to prevent citizens from taking risks themselves, whether deliberately or unintentionally. These sports can be highly dangerous and sometimes life-threatening. More than that, it is not just the participants who are at risk, but spectators too can be seriously injured. lf, for example, a Formula 1 car crashes, the driver may not escape unharmed, and there is also a chance that a bouncing tire or debris may fly into the crowd. Given this level of danger, it is understandable why people call for the authorities to take action. However, banning such sports is not the answer. Instead, the government should ensure that the companies or centres, which provide the facilities for such sports should meet the required, legal safety standards. Another argument against banning is that then people would play these sports in hiding, and then they would be even more risky. After all we all know that forbidden fruits taste sweeter. A further point is that in statistical terms there is a low probability of injury in many so-called dangerous sports, and people are at greater risk carrying out everyday activities such as crossing the road or cooking a meal. With the rapid development of advanced technology and medical insurance in our society, the security system of those extreme sports is absolutely mature enough to protect people who take part in these challenging activities. To sum up, it can be said that such sports should be performed after sufficient training and under supervision of experts. Dangerous sport companies should require a license for providing such training. To lay a prohibition on such sports is not the answer. What is more, those sportsmen who excel in such sports bring name and fame to their country. They break records set by others, and when they do so, the name of their country shines in the whole world. I also believe that people should be allowed to go for whatever risk they choose. So, if someone wishes to freefall from a plane at 30, 000 feet, then he should be free to do so and it should be accepted that it is not the place of the government to dictate how they lead their lives. Not infringing citizens' freedom should be regarded as a government's priority.