lt is generolly believed lhol educotion is of vitol importonce to the developmenl of individuors ond lhe wellbeing of sociefies. lryhot should educolion consist of lo fulfil both lhese funclions?

It is indubitable that education is of great significance to the progress of people and societies. Education is a companion, which no future can depress, no crime can destroy, no enemy can alienate, and no nepotism can enslave. This essay intends to analyze what all should be there in education, so that it can uplift the societies and its people. First of all, education should impart professional knowledge. Such knowledge enables individuals to earn a livelihood. ln this way they are benefited themselves and also they can look after their families better. This leads to better societies because an educated society is a crime free society. People are self-sufficient and so do not need to go on the path of crime. Education should also teach moral values. This makes us adaptive to society. There is less violence and less crime in society if people are educated. They become more open minded and live in harmony with each other. Moral science should be a compulsory subject till high school level. Finally, today, environmental education is the need of the hour. All schools should have mandatory lessons on saving the environment. small steps can go a long way in saving energy. Energy saved is energy generated. We all have to do away with some luxuries, if we want a better tomorrow. ln conclusion, I would like to reiterate that education should have professional, physical, moral and environmental components. After all, 'Education is not the filling up of a pail but the lighting up of a fire'. A well-rounded education consisting of all the above components would benefit both the individual and the society.